<< 10-23-12 >>

gays... more likely than you think

@ 12:49 p.m.

did i write only yesterday? wow, it felt like a few days ago at least. i was so busy last night getting my swaps together so i can mail it today. i think a part of me feels great having finished all that. now i move on to my next tasks which include cleaning the downstairs in preparation for my brother... i also really have to think of a place where i could place that piano for the time being. i may find that the place after all is just to put it upstairs in my closet for now. anyway, it's not the reason why i decided to write today.

i just went through facebook--god i know what was i thinking? -- but it actually wasn't that bad. i went on mostly because i wanted to talk to one of my snail mail pals, but afterwards i was looking around and looking at people who i haven't seen in forever and wondering what was going on with them. i found out that 2 people i knew pretty well, one of them being a really good friend of mine in high school, were gay. it was kinda weird because it was like i was surprised, but on the other hand, not really, cause i thought i saw some subtle signs. it seems weird to know that so many people are gay, and it's making me wonder if there's a huge chunk of people out there that are gay... say maybe even 50%? ok, i guess maybe it's not 50%, but it's definitely not like this 1 or 2% that i always thought it was. it turns out i was just sheltered, and i lived in a different time, and people were scared that they wouldn't be accepted so they never said anything. i realize now that just because they were silent didn't mean they weren't gay, they were just silent. it makes me sad to know that we live in such a world where people are still judging and still have prejudice towards so many things that the individual doesn't like. i don't understand how people can be so close minded and so harsh. especially and even people who love God. doesn't the bible say above all to love everyone? and since when was it up to you and me to judge, i thought that was God's right?

i have to say that i think this is the first time i've been on facebook in years and haven't felt like shit leaving it. and i'm happy about that, because i think it says to me that in my eyes, i see myself better than i used to be. i feel like maybe i could be better and do better things.