<< 06-28-12 >>

braces,1 month, 2nd visit

@ 2:37 p.m.

I went to the ortho appointment yesterday. Yesterday officially marked one month with these braces.. I didn't see much movement or changes, and the doctor seemed to agree too, so they were going to add something to the bottom right of my teeth, as well as the bottom middle of my teeth. Well the guy who was working on my teeth seemed inexperienced, it was later made painfully obvious too. In any case, lucky me, one of the brackets fell off my teeth when he tried to put on the new thing, and so they had to re-glue that one back on. That took awhile too and I was annoyed. He had to get approval from the doctor again that it was positioned correctly, but apparently the hold up was because some of the glue was still on the bracket and he needed help to figure out how to get the glue off the bracket. Ugh. Then later I overheard the guy talking with the more experienced person, and she was saying that whoever glued it didn't do a good job and that's why it fell off, and the guy says well I didn't do the gluing on this, and the woman says, I know you didn't. I was just saying. So not only is there one newbie, there's also another incompetent person who can't glue on brackets correctly. The whole thing irritated me a lot. Why couldn't I get the experienced person to work on me, why two noobs in a row? Am I unlucky or is the dental office just like that? Full of new people? I really like this office, and my actual doctor too, too bad it's all these other people that will actually work on my teeth. When did our system become like this? That the actual doctors spend about 5 minutes talking and discussing with you, and they just give instructions for someone else to do the work, and all they do is come back to inspect if it's a passing or failing grade.

I was further irritated when I found out that apparently because my bracket broke, they can't do the thing they were planning to do because it would've been too much pressure on the newly placed bracket. I was only slightly appeased because at least they still put the other one on my lower middle teeth (that's where the big problem is anyway). The whole visit made me so irritated. They were slow, broke my bracket, and now they've delayed my treatment. I want to get these things off as fast as possible. It's only been the second visit (my first check up) and they're fucking it all up. The only thing worse they could've done was charged me to re-glue the bracket, which would've fucking pissed me off... good thing they didn't.

Meanwhile, my lips are constantly dry again. I guess it had gone away after about 2 and a half weeks last time. I wonder how long it will take to go away this time. My lips being dry is really irritating. I hope this eventually fade. My next appointment is on Aug 1. I wonder why they decided to tell me to come back in 5 weeks instead of 4 this time. I hope it wasn't some typing error. I didn't realize when they estimated I'd be with these braces for 1 and a half to two years, that they actually meant to try to keep me for two years... not like they get paid more for it.