<< 03-12-09 >>

259 (big update part 1)

@ 11:30 a.m.

man it's been a month. i don't mean to put it off but i guess it just sort of happened. the funny thing is i haven't particularly been busy with anything. i just haven't felt like writing. and ironically, i should be in class right now, but instead i decided to ditch my first class. but i want to point out that this is the second time that i've ditched this class, and overall i've been pretty good this quarter about attending class when compared to some of (all of) my other quarters. but i am glad that it's 10th week and that means this week is the last week of class for the quarter, then i got finals.

the only thing that's really been keeping me from writing in here is the fact that i've been watching a lot of TV and anime. i guess i should specify here that i don't really watch anything on an actual TV, i watch episodes on hulu and i've been watching charmed. however, i am caught up on desperate housewives, but i am distraught by the fact that i am only on season 5 of charmed, and working on like 5 or 6 other series, and i still have not started on season 3 of heroes.

anyway, i'm sure that paragraph was pretty boring, but i thought i'd just write about what it is that's been keeping me away.

i'm still living at home. i've been visiting c every weekend so far. this will be my third weekend in a row if i decide to go. things with my mom have been a lot better. for awhile she was pretty annoyed at me because, well, pretty much i lost my job. which i will explain about in a second. but because of it and the fact that i seemed so uncaring about trying to find another one. she got really upset with me. she thought that i was acting spoiled and that i needed to grow up. i think what hit me really hard was the fact that she said that sometimes she wishes she was dead so that she knows i would have no choice but to grow up. she kinda helped me get my current two jobs, but i don't think nearly as much as she did in helping me find my last couple of jobs.

my mom helped me find the job at the dental office because she works as a dental assistant. one of the doctors at her office needed another front desk assistant at his other office, and that's how i got that job. my mom also helped me find my sushi job. she saw an ad in the newspaper, dragged me out to filled out an application (when i really didn't want to). this time she looked through some newspapers and circled some ones that she thought i could try. i didn't want to at first... i don't know if people can relate to this kind of problem but i've always really had a hard time with applying for jobs. i just feel like i'm such a loser and that they won't want me. in any case, i guess i just pepped talked myself before calling each person.. and i guess it wasn't so bad.

i ended up with two jobs in the end. i'm working as a secretary at one job. it pays me $13 which is pretty good (i got paid $12.50 at my last job), and it mainly consists of paying bills, faxing, writing emails, and various types of things like that. weird thing is i go to his house because his "office" is at his home. i mean, it does look like an office, but it's still kind of weird. it's just me and him there, (well his daughter is home in the house moving around sometimes) so i have to keep my guard up and i can't really slack off or anything because he could see it, but i'm sure knowing me i'll find some way to slack off eventually... once i figure out how things work. at my other job i am going to be front desk to a medical office. i am a lot more excited about this one. i only get paid $10 here, but it's still awesome because i know i'm going to be learning a lot more here than i ever did at the dental office. at the dental office, they just stuck me in the back to do any annoying work that they didn't want to do. ie they made me pull charts and make new charts, mail out some stuff... they never had me answering the phone much. i hardly ever made appointments because they never taught me how i could schedule the appointments (because we could double book sometimes- meaning see put two patients at the same time for one doctor). i never called insurance to find out deductibles or eligibility. and i'm going to be able to learn this now... all of it. i'm going to feel like a fucking actual employee instead of like some little kid they hired to do all their dirty work that they pay for cheap.

okay, i gotta get to school now because i can't ditch my second class. i'll give more updates soon.