<< 03-17-09 >>

lost the job

@ 11:41 a.m.

not much to report on but one of the jobs decided to "fire" me because of time conflicts. it's the $10 an hour office job. i was a little disappointed because i felt that there was a lot that i could learn there, but i have to admit being let go is not that big of a deal in general. the woman there, named nancy told me that she would like me to work on monday and thursdays (i told her that i might not be able to work mondays, and she knows my thursdays, i could only work after 2:30pm) then she further added that someone else in the office wants more hours. i asked her what if i worked around that and worked on mondays, and some of thursdays, she said that it wouldn't work because someone else in the office wanted more hours. she stressed at one point that it had nothing to do with me. i went home believing her and just generally feeling whatever, that at least i had my other job, and that i wasn't going to be working a second job that's all, i'll just work with my other job until i graduate and then i'll find something better.

also, yesterday was my final, and i think i did ok. meh, i don't want to think too much about it. in any case, i have one more final on friday, and i have 4 mini papers to write for one class due by friday as well. so this other guy i work for, his name is david. he said that his wife is on spring break, so he needs to go to her store and look after it while she's gone, so i don't have work til friday. i decided to take advantage of this and stay at c's longer. and this ended in a long phone call from my mom. she bickered at me that i should've gone home. the fact that i'm no longer working there should mean that i need to work harder to find work elsewhere. she also made me think that the reason they didn't want me anymore had to do with me, and that they were just using the scheduling as a way to get rid of me. i didn't think this way at first, but i guess the more i think about it, i think it's true. i mean, why didn't the person who want more hours just say something to begin with, before looking for someone else to hire? also i honestly didn't think they needed someone else in the office. it looked like they had a lot of workers there. and when i was talking to her, it didn't seem at all like she wanted to try to work around the scheduling, she just wanted to get rid of me. i guess she was just trying to be nice when she said that it wasn't me. god, who knows?

in any case, my mom seems to want me to look for another job. i'm pretty sure with next quarter's schedule that i can't really keep two jobs, especially if i'm going to be working at david's still. so i have no clue what i should be looking for to fit my schedule. all i know is that i'm not supposed to be slacking off (according to my mom) but i don't know what it is that i should be doing so that i'm not slacking off...

i get that i'm a lazy bum but i'm not sure what i should be doing.. what she wants me to do doesn't make sense to me.